|Title:||Department of Antiquities, Republic of Cyprus, Milia, Monastery of Panagia (Our Lady) of Avgasida (C5759-1-5)||Start date:||1100||End date:||1199||Historical Period:||Middle Byzantine Period||Description:||
Department of Antiquities, Republic of Cyprus, Milia, Monastery of Panagia (Our Lady) of Avgasida. The monastery until 1974 consisted of a two-aisled katholikon, now destroyed (the southern aisle was dated to the 12th century and the north to the 15th century) and two adjacent monastic buildings. On the dome of the south aisle there were unique wall paintings of the 15th century.
|Place:||Miliá, Cyprus||Languages:||No linguistic content; Not applicable||Medium:||stone (worked rock)||Project:||BYZART Project||Fond:||OUC Department of Antiquities Republic of Cyprus||Physical type:||monasteries (built complexes)||Material and technique:||masonry construction (technique or process)||Data provider:||Open University of Cyprus||License:||All rights reserved||Rights holder:||Church of Cyprus|
|Appears in Collections:||BYZART|
Show full item record
Items in DSpace are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.